THE GEM 19 OCTOBER 2016 : “Someone has said, ‘It is not how old you are but how you are old.’ The way I was old today on my eightieth birthday is that I have just entered the infancy of middle age.” SIR ISAAC, ISAACS | THE OLD PROVERBIAL RECOVERY

SilenceBy Anthony Thwaite

This silence, with you away –These silences, day after day –

Silence itself, pure and cold and grey –Once I welcomed it, heard

Nothing but peace, even a bird

Disturbing it. Without a word

Silence welcomed me,

tookMe in friendliness, shook

Melancholy out, thrust a bookInto my hands, so that I read

Hungrily of what lay ahead,Not thinking of the dead.

Alone,

Silence lies along the bone,Grey, cold as a stone.

Source: “Someone has said, ‘It is not how old you are but how you are old.’ The way I was old today on my eightieth birthday is that I have just entered the infancy of middle age.” SIR ISAAC, ISAACS | THE OLD PROVERBIAL RECOVERY

Leave a Reply

