THE GEM 15 JAN 2015 : I assume it was going to Bloomingdales to buy a hat that will turn out to be a mistake – as almost all hats are.

THE GEM 15 JAN 2015

THE OLD PROVERBIAL RECOVERY

~Nikolaus Laszlo, Nora Ephron, and Delia Ephron, You’ve Got Mail

http://www.quotegarden.com/butterflies.html

1 1 1 1 1 1 whoswhoonscreen00foxc_0324_Fotor_Fotor_Collage

Under My Hat

Under my hat is a horse

I rode when I was ten

Under my hat is a house

Or five or six or seven.

Under my hat is a story

Half-true or true or false

Of nights of booze and poetry

Of songs and a sweet slow waltz.

Under my hat are opinions

That have made me friends or foes

When you march to insistent drums

It depends how the current flows.

I’m a hoarder, a keeper, a snail

That needs a pile to crawl under

My hat shields a regular haul

Of trivia, jetsam and plunder.

And what of the secret places

Where you and you cannot tread

The dark and the dismal traces?

They’re under the hat on my head.

BARRY BREEN

http://www.australianpoetry.org/2013/09/18/18-september-under-my-hat/ 

View original post

Leave a Reply

